Butterfly

A few weeks ago we discovered our swan plant had seven monarch caterpillars. Originally we only had 3 plants but the hungry caterpillars ate every leaf so I had to rush down to a plant nursery and buy 4 more. But even though the nursery said they hadn’t sprayed the plants, 5 of our little friends didn’t survive. We have watched many caterpillars change into butterflies but I have never once watched one emerge from the chrysalis, I always miss them. So I had my camera at the ready and kept checking all day. Izzy and Jazzy arrived home just as it happened and we watched. The girls still had their school bags on.

IMG_0229  IMG_0240

IMG_0242

IMG_0243

IMG_0244

IMG_0247

IMG_0250

IMG_0255

I thought I would share the next images from 2010. My two monkees were so in awe of the whole process. Excuse the badly edited images as I was still learning and didn’t understand noise and sharpening back then.

4-9728

2 

3

1-9806

1

2-9784

Leave a comment